Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Did you know, that ... (Part 44)

.. after luring your opponent into combat with "Dawn Operation" when playing "Catatonic Fear" in the resulting combat the damage caused by "Catatonic Fear" is not aggravated. The reason for this is that "Dawn Operation" only makes the damage in the resulting combat aggravated while "Catatonic Fear" inflicts the damage after combat. On the other hand the extra damage inflicted by "Drawing out the Beast" played in a combat under "Dawn Operation" is at the end of a round, which is still in combat and that would make that damage aggravated.

Reference: VtES Usenet Newsgroup.

3 comments:

Hodgestar said...

The damage from Drawing out the Beast is not at the end of the round but during the press step.

Wanderer's Counsel said...

Hodgestar is correct. Drawing Out The Beast was changed in the Sabbat War edition to explicitly fix the Dawn Op/DoTB/Form of Mist issue.

http://www.thelasombra.com/rules/swchanges.txt

Several combat cards have been reworded not to be stackable:
* Drawing Out the Beast (one per combat).

* Drawing Out the Beast: damage from the superior is done during the press step (and therefore will not occur if the combat is ended prior to the press step).

YY said...

The quote was from 1998, when DotB did damage at the end of the round.

Either way, it would work with Dawn Operation