Wednesday, April 23, 2008

VtES Rules: "Autonomic Mastery" Q&A

(c) 2007 by White Wolf Inc.Lately a number of questions came up regarding Autonomic Mastery, so here's a short "Questions and Answers" summary for the card. Most of the information is taken from the Usenet newsgroup "":

Q: Can I play "Autonomic Mastery" at long range?
A: No. The card text explictely requires that it can only be played at close range.

Q: How is damage resolved when playing "Autonomic Mastery" (at superior)?
A: After both strikes have been announced, both of these strikes resolve at the same time normally, but afterwards the combat ends immediately, i.e. there is no press step or chance to play additional strikes. On the other hand you can still play cards like "Claws of the Dead".

Q: Can I play "Claws of the Dead" before/after playing "Autonomic Mastery" (at superior).
A: Yes, you can but since the damage from your handstrike is reduced to zero, there is no aggravated damage to apply. Therefore you also cannot play "Rotschreck" since you intended to strike for zero damage. The same applies to "Autonomic Mastery" strikes that are modified by "Target Vitals" or "Target Head" for example, the cards can be played, but have no effect since the initial damage is reduced to zero.

Q: Can I play "Disarm" after the opposing vampire has played "Autonomic Mastery" (at superior)?
A: Assuming you hit for one or more damage, and since the opposing vampire due to the "Autonomic Mastery" hit for zero damage, you can play "Disarm" on him, since the card is played at the end of the round of combat.

No comments: